Simplify 2013

Foyer

I have already done some spring cleaning… I promise. It’s just that the chaos that comes with having two toddlers overwhelms me at times…

I realized this week that I have failed as a Mom… Not in a dramatic woe is me self loathing sort of way, but in a wow I really bombed this sort of way. Just like everyone I have strengths and weaknesses. I am a planner. I wasn’t always a planner, but somewhere in college thanks to an amazing book and thanks to the start of my military career… I learned to plan… like a boss. I mean 30, 60, 90 day plans? Done. 1 year, 3 year, 5 year plans? No problem. Contingency plans for if the contingencies failed? Done. Improvising when everything hit the fan and every ounce of planning was blown to smithereens? Yep got that too.

The problem is that I have been doing the homemaker/ parenting role in that last category. I have a decent ability to roll with the punches and improvise on the fly and unfortunately that is how I have approached all of motherhood.

What are we eating for supper? No idea… let’s see what we have in the fridge.

What are the kids going to do today? I don’t know I haven’t really thought about it, so we’ll just stay in pajamas until Daddy gets home and probably watch too much tv.

Seriously where are my socks? I know I have more than one pair… Oh right I haven’t done laundry in… hmmm not sure when.

That is part of the reason my life is chaos. I am fully aware that planning, organizing, and simplifying will not solve all of our issues. I will still have to roll with the punches and improvise, but as the old saying goes…

If you fail to plan, you plan to fail.

So, here goes. Project I-don’t-want-to-be-on-hoarders, my-toddlers-are-taking-over, I-never-know-what-day-of-the-week-it-is… will commence this spring.

I will be piggy backing off of Simple Mom’s Project Simplify for tackling some of our disaster areas.

ps13

Sweet right? Tsh doesn’t even know I exist, but she read my mind… :-D Needless to say, I’m in. Project Simplify 2013 will begin for me next week.

So ready to do this.

*Update: This project has been so helpful to me that I have decided to extend it beyond the 4 weeks hosted by Simple Mom :-)

